Skip to content
July 16, 2015 / kristieinman

Why I let my kids climb up slides and play with knives.

The other day at the playground Enoch climbed up the slide, a little girl was following him and stared up, her mom immediately grabbed her and told her slides were for going down. Hmmmm, slide

I understand at school certain rules need to be followed to ensure the safety of the hoard of kids running around, and if there are kids waiting to come down the slide then going up would be rude, but when no one is there – why not?  Going up the slide builds kids’ leg muscles, balance, and coordination, plus they get a sense of accomplishment by tackling the challenge.  It’s why I will still go up a down escalator and get in trouble with mall security.

knife Danni has been dicing and chopping for a couple of years now.  It’s important to me that my children feel comfortable in the kitchen and that they can cook without me looking over their shoulder.  That’s mostly because I’m lazy and having more people around to cook means less cooking for me.  But this laziness has produced some very talented and creative children in the kitchen.

So while I’m pointing out some of my rebellious ways, let me really impress you!

If I am at a red light and I see no other vehicles around me I will run it.

If my dogs poop in the long grass (not the cut and groomed lawn areas) I will not pick it up.  My dad used to say, “Why take one of the most biodegradable things and put it into a non-biodegradable bag?”

When I ride my bike I do not follow the rules of the road, I go the wrong way on streets and don’t stop at lights or stop signs if I don’t see any traffic.

I let my family eat dessert first sometimes.

I know! I know! I’m a menace to society.
Maybe I should start a support group, “rebels who feel justified”….I’ll start working on the t shirts!

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

