Skip to content
July 10, 2015 / kristieinman

Just a little about who I am.

Buffy This is Buffy.  She was my horse from the time she was 2 years old –  nobody wanted her because she wasn’t showing signs of the speed she was breed for.  She’s part thoroughbred and part quarter horse, and a late bloomer.   Her speed came – boy did it come!  She was my therapist through my parent’s divorce, she was my best friend and confidant.  Last I heard we still hold records in some arenas in Colorado.

I had a dream last night that I was in the old Bergstrom Arena in Woodland Park on Buffy bareback, as I so often was in my youth.  With just a halter we were galloping around the arena as smooth as melted chocolate.  I would lean a little and she would lean with me, switching leads, stretching out her neck – enjoying the freedom of movement when all is in sync and right with the world.  This dream had me waking to wonderful memories.

Before Buffy was Chip.  She was a fine mare, but didn’t have the power or speed Buffy had, but she ran pretty, and many times her consistency shaved enough seconds to place or win.

Chip

An awful accident took place and Buffy broke her leg.  It was the end of my life – at least it felt that way at the time.  I used my mom’s horse, Rocky, for a bit.  But sharing a horse is never a good idea between people who are ultra competitive.  Rocky has a fun horse to ride though, and in the short time I got to compete with him we did rather well.Rocky

It happened that a foal of Buffy’s had a foal at about that time and my dad purchased him and gave him to me for a graduation gift.  I trained him and took him to college with me.  Eventually Bill and I got pregnant and owning a horse was a luxury we could no longer afford, so I gave him to my sister.

CJ youngCJ

After a few years of marriage it worked out that I could finally purchase a horse – Tigger.  He was amazing!  But he was temporary, just a couple years later I had to sell him so we could move our family to Kansas and then to Muncie. me n tigger

Every once in awhile I beg rides from friends or go visit family.mom on horse

I would have never guessed myself going from a mountain grown rodeo queen to living in a city with bass beating at my windows and cops visiting our street weekly.

It’s hard not to fall into the mind frame of pity party-ness.  But I look at what I do have, and hundreds of acres of horses couldn’t replace the amazing children and husband I’ve been blessed to be around.  I may or may not ever own a horse again.  I keep waiting for a call from that horse ranch in need of a family to come live with them and care for and train their horses – then will the ranch to us.  It could happen, but probably not.

It’s the dreams like last night that keep those feelings of riding alive in my heart, just enough to wake up with a smile!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. JoEllen / Jul 19 2015 11:30 pm

    Oh my, I just love that pic of you and bill. Hot, hot, hot!!

    We are not given talents to bury them away. I imagine you will own a horse again someday, and you’ll find yourself back in your element.

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

