Skip to content
July 7, 2014 / kristieinman

what’s a mother to do?

We took the weekend and went up to visit with David, Camden & Will.  They live fairly close to Chicago so we went out there for a day.  We spent the morning at the Chicago temple where Bill & I and David & Camden were able to serve for a bit while the children waited outside and found some deals at some local shops.  I wanted to get a picture of the family in front of the temple, and luckily David’s friend was with us and was able to snap some for us.  Will was asleep in the van and they felt if they woke him he would be grumpy for the rest of the day, I didn’t see the point in taking pictures if Will wasn’t with us, which is probably about when this picture was taken. my lifeI’m posting it on my blog because it perfectly reflects the way I feel way too often.  Notice everyone else is pretty much oblivious to my pleadings….

I picture myself making this face 4 or 5 times a day, trying to plead with a child -or- interestingly enough- in self defense.  Have you seen “The Middle”?  If so you know how Frankie Heck’s kids raz her non-stop.  If I mis-pronounce a word, mess up a sentence, drop a tomato, cry at a stupid commercial, or run a stop sign I have a witness who not only points it out but retells the scenario to others of the clan with exaggerated movements and hysterical laughter.  If I dance, sing, run, move, or breath around them they roll their eyes and leave ASAP, or as soon as they’re done eating.

I love my family, and I chronicle our times together because they are a blast to be around and amazing memories come with our gatherings. But I am a mom, and that seems to come with certain consequences once my children (mostly of female gender)  reach their teens.  I assume if I stick it out someday they will all become moms themselves and I will be off the hook.  Until then don’t be surprised if you see me looking like I do in the picture, just give me a pat on the back and say, “this too will pass”.

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

