Skip to content
May 16, 2014 / kristieinman

…and this little piggy went to yoga…..

feetPlantar fasciitis – I hear about this all the time!  It’s pain in the heal of the foot, and 3 close friends have tackled this injury in 3 different ways.  One just keeps buying new shoes trying to find ones she can walk in for more than 2 days without pain- expensive!  One just had surgery and ended up in a walking boot for 3xs longer than needed – infuriating!  One used stretches and exercise and slowly has gotten to where she is basically pain free.

My brother & sister suffer from it as well, and – I have to admit- there have been days when getting out of bed has been a very painful experience for me.  I know my body well enough to get it in check.  Any pain I have generally comes from poor nutritional choices, I can look back and see the direct correlation.

I have recently stumbled onto a great article in one of my old yoga magazines (Yoga Journal; Nov. 2001; Tias Little) –  It’s all about feet!  Here are a few of my thoughts, both spurred (yes it’s a pun!) on by the article and what I’ve gleaned day to day, concerning feet.

I do not believe support shoes are good for the foot.  This has been a new revelation from the last few years.  I have lived my life barefoot as much as possible my whole life.  Fast walking made me look at shoe shopping in a whole new light.  I wanted ankle support and good cushion and the whole works.  Then I found Vibrams (those funny looking 5 toe shoes) and fell in love.  They get a bad rap, but I don’t understand why, it takes a while to get used to them, people don’t give them time.  Anyway these shoes give the 27 bones in my feet room to move.  The muscles God put there had to start working to keep those bones in place and help me have stability and strength.

The article talks a lot about the arch.  She compares the arch of the foot to a spring, giving us –literally- spring in our step! And she shows how to get those arches springy.  I plan on devoting my next few yoga classes to our feet.  We will still be doing all our normal poses, but we’ll be focusing on our feet more and encouraging a mindfulness of how we distribute our weight and engage our muscles.

We want to keep those babies happy – because we all know there’s nothing like the agony of de-feet!

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

