Skip to content
February 10, 2014 / kristieinman

If I were a horse.

arabian-horse This is an Arabian horse, it is a slighter fine boned horse known for it’s amazing energy and beautiful heads. quarter_horse_82_by_equinestockimagery-d5e1mq7This is a quarter Horse, it’s stockier and athletic and used for rodeo and cattle events. (My horse of choice)ThoroughbredHorse-racing The Thoroughbred is know for incredible speed, they are usually taller and leaner than a Quarter Horse and they have a much hotter temperament. .  percheron-horseThis is a Percheron, it is used for pulling heavy loads, it’s very large and powerful and peaceful.  

I find it interesting that ‘horse’ can be subdivided into many  breeds (these are just a few).  Most people can look and identify the animal as a horse, but may not know all the breeds.  This goes for dogs, cats, rabbits, cattle, or any animal that is bred for a specific purpose and shown.    I wish humans were the same.

We do have certain subdivisions, Asian people are normally seen as smaller, and the Netherlands boast the tallest people.  But over all we are such a melting pot that classifications don’t apply many times, and there may throwback to a generation where one sibling gets very large, and a throwback to where another sibling is very small.  Case in point – my family.  I am above average height (average is 5’4.5″) and I am 5’7″+.  I have a sister who is barely kissing the 5′ mark.  My ring size is 11, my foot size is 12… I have very large bones.  Her foot size is 4, and I’m sure her ring size is roughly the same.  We came from the same womb.  If I were a horse I would probably be a Friesian. justice09 I plan on owning one some day, I think they are the most splendid of creatures!   When the Freisian is placed next to the Arab people don’t say, “Wow! That horse does not look like a Victoria Secret model, it is way too big and curvy to be beautiful.”  No – people are amazed at the majesty and strength.

The horse is fulfilling it’s purpose.  Now horses can get too fat or too skinny, they can be mean or shy or a devilish or sweet -just as people.  But over all they are judged for their ability to fulfill there purpose (at least show horses are…).

Now at present my girth is larger than it should be, but no matter how small I get it I’ll never be an Arab.  But my point to all this is – I am loved for who I am.  I’ve never had anyone important to me question my size.  I’m so grateful that I am made to feel majestic and beautiful daily.  I wish everyone could experience total acceptance for who they are.

Not long ago when I read some blurbs regarding Philip Seymore Hoffman’s death I saw a quote from an interview with him.  I have since tried to find it but can’t, but the gist of it was that being an actor was a life where there is very little peace, Hollywood doesn’t allow for it.  That has stuck in my head.  I am so blessed to live a life where I can find peace with who I am, with what I am, and yet still feel the desire to become better, not to please anyone else, but just to experience life to an even fuller degree!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Lisa Brand / Feb 10 2014 4:05 am

    I love your blog! Helps me forget that I don’t get to see you every day anymore! 😦

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

