Skip to content
January 17, 2014 / kristieinman

Balance – a Utopian dream

I remember many years ago hopping into the truck with my dad as we prepared for an early morning trip.  He was eating an oatmeal creme pie for breakfast, I’m sure I said something like, “You’re kidding me, that’s not a good breakfast!” and he said, “It’s as good as any other breakfast, see there’s the grains and there’s the dairy, just like a bowl of cereal.”.  I have since discovered “Balance” is all semantics.

I heard a yoga teacher once claim that when balance is achieved in our lives the balance poses will come easier…not so sure about that!  (I think I may have even said this a time or two!) When doing a balance pose there are what we call stabilizer muscles at work, we can feel them tense and release as we sway and rock.  Eventually we can achieve a solid pose once we stabilize with time and practice.  But that may be with tree pose,download (1) if we switch it up to Eagle Poseeagle_pose_thumb and it changes weight distribution, focus, and which stabilizers are being used, so this pose won’t be as solid for awhile.  That’s part of the reason I change up my balance poses so often in class.

In my life I’m working at ‘balancing’ my time between keeping up the house, homeschooling my children, managing my husband’s art career, budget and paying bills, my yoga classes and walking regime, my spiritual study and meditation, meal planning and preparation, digital socialization, volunteer work in my church, my theater groups, my children and grand child, reading, and keeping up on my favorite shows.  As I look at this list I definitely prioritize and that would help some. But I’ll never have true balance…I can try to  balance the budget but then when the car breaks down that all crumbles….I can get the kitchen clean, but my six year old thinks that the cans and cartons are wonderful building blocks and can undo hours of work in a matter of minutes….

Each thing gets done at a price.  A meeting might mean a dinner of PB&J.  Being involved in a play might mean lots of PB&Js!  Planning out and making a nice meal might mean less homeschooling that day (or the lessons will be on measurements.)  Working on the Art business might mean a messy kitchen.  I can’t balance it all…and I feel balanced about that.  I lived with the kitchen messy for 3 days knowing I could get to it this morning.  If anyone had come over to visit yesterday I would have been very embarrassed and I’m sure they would have left thinking me a very poor house keeper!  It’s all in the ‘stabilizers’ that keep me balanced!    My stabilizers are my family – mainly.  My husband is so appreciative of whatever meals he gets and supports my out of house activities as much as he can and still paint.  My children take turns making dinners and cleaning the kitchen and don’t complain when my meals are shoddy or they need to watch the young ones so I can go teach my classes or go to meetings.  My friends support and love and pray for me and those stabilizers are felt often.

So with all these wonderful people around me my world doesn’t collapse when I get sick, or need to run away for an afternoon, or condemn me for a dirty house.  I may not be rock solid, but my balance comes from an acceptance that I’ll never be completely balanced!

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

