Skip to content
August 6, 2012 / kristieinman

You don’t know what you got till it’s gone

I grew up the way every little girl wants to grow up – on a horse.  Of course I didn’t know that as I was growing up, and there were many early mornings of breaking ice out of horse’s water buckets, and days of mucking out stalls, and hours of frustration trying to catch a horse out in the pasture while the horse was playing tag (a game I’ve always sucked at) that I would have gladly traded those little girls.

My ‘horsey’ youth went beyond just owning a horse, my parents made sure I could ride one, weather or not it was trained.  I was hauled around to rodeos and gymkhanas from a young age, learning the art of competition.  I was trained to ride English and to jump.  I got to do it all.

Life has a way of moving us in directions we didn’t intend to take, and life moved me away from horses.  That move has not been an easy one.  I’m OK with it, I really do have an amazing life!  I have family who has kept the horse passion alive in their lives and have been more than willing to offer me ‘saddle time’ when we visit.  

I have recently found a long lost friend (we had not met in this life, but I’m sure we were BFFs in the life before….) and she happens to have horses, and she happens be very gracious and share them with me, and my children!  It does my heart good to see my kids on horse back, I feel like I’m giving them just a little taste of what my wonderful childhood was like.  They are constantly reminding me of how great I had it compared to how rough they’ve had it.  That’s a bunch of malarkey, but I do wish I could have given them more – as does every parent.

So please forgive the brag post on my kids.  I’m so proud of their courage and ability with so little training!  ImageImage

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

