Skip to content
June 11, 2012 / kristieinman

Confessions of a novice vegan

I have kind of fallen off the blogging wagon.  I have thought of at least 20 witty blog posts, and even taken some pictures to accompany them, but they never made it to the page. You do not know what you are missing, and I’ll leave it that way.

Quick catch up before I get to the ‘meat’ of my post (very funny pun intended):

Harrison graduates High School tomorrow.  I will probably not attend because I think sitting through a graduation is a terrible price one should have to pay for sitting through years of school.  Bill will probably go and take pictures I can post and thereby redeem myself as a mom who cares.  I am so proud of Harrison though.  He is graduating with all sorts of honors and awards and has already been accepted into BSU’s architecture program with the presidential scholarship.  

Tawny and Harrison have gained employment at a local vehical assembly line place, I think it’s called Kane.

Tawny will be leaving for BYU-I in September!  Then after April she plans on turning in her paperwork for a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Eve & Aurora are working at a horse ranch in Kentucky with their grandma.  In their off time they will be lazing by the pool…lucky girls!

Bill and Tawny got me to watch a documentary called Forks over Knives. I knew it supported a vegan lifestyle and refused to watch it for awhile.  I finally gave in.

Here’s the issue – I love cheese, I love sauces made with cheese, cheese melted onto breads, I love cheesy dishes…cheese is a beautiful food group with so many flavors and textures, I just couldn’t give up my cheese.  I don’t have to “say cheese” to smile for the camera, I can think it and beam!

Here’s another issue, my blood pressure is ridiculously high.  I’m talkin’ 190/110.  It’s been high for a couple for years now.  It’s time to get it under control.  I don’t want to get a prescription to do that.  I’m way to young to be worrying about popping meds.  So I am doing all within my power to lower it naturally.  So far I have tried everything…everything but vegan.  So here I go.  

I started eating about 80% vegan in May, Bill and Tawny and a couple other kids were committed, so I made meals that they could eat.  Once the school year ended I jumped in 100% (With a little slip-up Saturday at the Indiana Heritage art show…cheese…).  I have found that I don’t need meat or dairy to live.  I’m still struggling with eggs, especially in baking, but it’s summer and I don’t bake as much.  I do feel ‘cleaner’, and I am losing weight without trying to.  My yoga practice has become easier and the poses deeper.  If this works, then I’ll be a lifer vegan, one more thing to make me different from the masses!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. JoEllen / Jun 18 2012 3:08 am

    Your house must feel empty with the girls gone! I can’t believe Harrison is graduated, and Tawny serving a mission – that is awesome! We’re not too far of a drive from BYU-I if she ever feels like visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Twisting Tawnymara

A fine WordPress.com site

Inman Insights

Dispelling Ignorance Through Reason

In with the Inmans

Faith, Fun, Health and Slightly Hazardous

theinmanclan

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

Welcome to the Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Trending Tawnymara

From Wallflower to Warrior

Lindsay & Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Kristin and Company

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Our Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

My Family

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

edible endeavors

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Joys & Disasters

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Just Simply Live

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

juliabender.com

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Tappingflamingo

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Cranes

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The Trenkle Life

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

Sandi's Impressions

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

The White's House

Welcome to the wacky world of the Inman Clan!

